Work in progress … halted!

jordan

Unfortunately my dream of completing the 2015 Rotterdam Marathon has been put on hold due to an injury.  This is not quite how I wanted thing to go – but hey there is nothing I can do about it. 

What kind of injury you ask?  Well it is fair enough to say that I will not be challenging donkeys to a foot race anymore.  😦  Yes, that is exactly what I said…I was on my trip of a life time to Jordan and on the second day I was hiking up to the beautiful Petra!  After watching the most amazing sunset on the top of the hills above Petra, I was hiking back down with some locals.  After refusing to get on one of the donkeys for the entire day, the locals could not believe that I was still walking and would not be persuaded to take this very “comfortable” mode of transportation instead.  I, in turn, had insisted that my legs were much stronger and would carry me much faster than the donkey.  Thus the foot race began.  Unfortunately, it was dark and my competitive spirit overtook my cautiousness so I sprinted for my life without giving regard to the uneven nature of the road.  Quelle surprise –  I went over my foot and heard the most horrendous noise which made me almost pass out.  In the end I had no choice but to get on the donkey to the amusement of the locals.  Thankfully Shakira (the donkeys’ name) was the most gentle of animals.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

So now I am in recovery hoping that this halt in my training will not hold me back too much.  Fingers crossed I will be back on it in no time.

Donkey 1 – Tania 0

Leave a Reply

